top of page

The Weekend Away Review



The Weekend Away is about two best friends who go on holiday, but things turn more sinister and becomes a holiday from hell. Beth's best friend Kate disappears during a trip to Croatia, and this leads to Beth trying to uncover what happened to her friend. The clues that Beth finds are disturbing throughout.


Beth as a character is frustrating right the way through, she is too naïve and trusting of people. But this does benefit her eventually with a certain character that I will not say, because it will spoil some part of the film. The actor that played Beth Leighton Meester put on a brilliant performance, and carried it somewhat as well.


This film really kept me guessing throughout, and I did not really have any idea of what was going to happened and the events that eventually unfolded. The little clues we get are frustrating because Beth cannot remember the events that happened on the night of her friends disappearance. As the film goes on she slowly starts to remember some things of the night, and we get closer to what happened to her friend Kate and where she is. The suspense this film carries all the way through is really well done. Almost everyone we meet in the film feels like they know what happened to Kate and are involved some what in her disappearance. There are a lot of twist and turns all the way through right till the very end.


I can't say too much about this film without spoiling it if you have not watched it. It's not the usual sort of film I watch, but I really enjoyed it because I had no idea what was going to happen. And when I did think I knew what happened the story goes completely the other way. Overall it was tense throughout, and the performance of Leighton Meester really makes this film worth watching.


Verdict - 6/10

Even though this is a fairly low score for a film I enjoyed. I felt that the film lacked direction sometimes and it relied too much on the main protagonist. But I would recommend this film if you like suspense and a good mystery that will keep you guessing throughout.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page