top of page

The Northman Review - Violent, Brutal and a truly epic Viking film


The Northman

The Northman is about a young prince called Amleth who is on the verge of becoming a man, but his father gets murdered by his uncle. The uncle also kidnaps Amleths mother. A couple of decades later he becomes a Viking who raids Slavic villages. Amleth made a vow when he was younger, which was to save his mother, kill his uncle, and avenge his father.


The first thing I have to say about The Northman is that it is a cinematic masterpiece. The way the action scenes were shot looked absolutely stunning, and overall the film just looked amazing. The performances from all of the cast were brilliant, but the one that stood out for me is Alexander Skarsgard who plays Amleth. The action scenes were some of the best I have seen on the big screen, and I really liked how brutal they were as well. The Northman was filmed in Northern Ireland, and I have got to say some of the scenery and shots we get look beautiful.


The story is pretty basic, but the action scenes and the atmosphere throughout makes up for this. I do have a few things that bothered me about the film. One of the negatives for me was that there was not enough action. I thought that there would be more fight scenes, but we get very few which I think is a detriment to the film. I also think that because there is not much action, especially the middle part, the film dragged on a bit for me.


Overall I really enjoyed The Northman, especially the epic action scenes we see. This is my favorite film that has come out this year so far, and most likely will be in my top three films of the year. I don't know what film will top it for me, maybe Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness. But that remains to be seen.


Verdict - 9/10

The Northman is one of the best films that have come out this year so far, especially if you love Vikings. It's violent and brutal throughout, and it has some of the best action scenes that I have scene on the big screen. I would highly recommend watching this if you are into films like Gladiator.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page