top of page

Death on the Nile Review

Updated: Apr 9, 2022



Death on the Nile is a mystery thriller, and is the sequel to Murder on the Orient Express. This film has a amazing cast starring Gal Gadot, Lititia Wright, Russel Brand, Emma Mackey and Rosie Leslie to name a few. It is about a couple who have just got married, but on there honeymoon there is a woman who the husband used to be engaged to following them everywhere. To get away from the women they hire a river steamer and invite there close friends and family to celebrate them just getting married. But the vacation for the so called perfect couple turns into a search for a murderer on the couples honeymoon.


Like I said at the start this film is a sequel, but you can watch Death on the Nile without having watched the film before this one. This is because it is not connected to Murder on the Orient Express at all. I was expecting more from the film because of the big names that were in there, but I still enjoyed it overall. The film is set in Egypt and some of the shots we see look absolutely stunning. Another positive was the brilliant performance by Kenneth Branagh who plays the detective called Hercule Poitou. I'm not saying that the rest of the cast were bad, It's just that Kenneth really carried the film and kept me engaged throughout. I also liked how it kept you guessing and making you think that almost every character was the culprit. Throughout the film I did not have a clear idea on who the killer was until right at the end, and this is what I loved most about it. Usually you kind of get an idea on who the person is, but I really didn't have a clue.


There was one thing that I did not enjoy and that was the length of the film. With it being just over 2 hours long, it only started to get interesting halfway through. At times it felt like a slog to get through, but it's worth sticking with till the end in my opinion. The theme of this film is love, and how it can cause emotional chaos and in this instance deadly consequences. I found this quite cheesy, but it suited the tone of the film because it does not takes itself too seriously.


Verdict - 6/10

Death on the Nile keeps you guessing throughout and gets tense at times, which is perfect for it being a mystery thriller. Even though the film is long, it is worth getting through for the brilliant ending it has. I would recommend this film if you like thrillers, and are a murder mystery fan.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page