top of page

Taboo Review



Taboo is about a man called James Delaney, who is played by Tom Hardy. He comes to England for his fathers funeral after being away for 10 years. James finds his fathers death suspicious, so he starts to investigate what actually happened to him. And he becomes consumed with vengeance.


Taboo is a series I did not have much expectations for, but it really surprised me how much I enjoyed it. What originally got me to watch it was that it starred Tom Hardy, but very quickly the plot got me hooked. The performance from Tom Hardy was brilliant as always. Another performance that caught my eye was Jessie Buckley, who plays the widow of James Delaney's father. Taboo is set in 1814 in London, and it looks grimy which suits the show perfectly. The violence is brutal, and the drama that comes along with it is really entertaining. The show also touches on subjects about slavery, and how the British were trying to cover some things up about it. This is a BBC series, and I am surprised on how the British are represented, because it is not in a good light. The show is raw, and does not pull back the punches when it gets political which I love about this series.


Taboo also touches on dark magic and supernatural stuff, which makes the show unique. The magic we see is not explained in this season, but it makes the show interesting, and makes you wonder what the hell is going on. I'm sure the next season will give us a few more answers. Speaking of the next season, it is scheduled to come out at some point in 2023. I did not realize that it came out in 2017, but I read up on it, and there was always going to be a second season. The reason why it is taking so long is because Tom Hardy had other obligations he had to do first. I'm excited on the direction the show is going to go in after the finale, and hopefully it will live up to expectations.


Verdict - 8/10

Taboo is raw, grimy and violent, and the plot really keeps you engaged throughout. Tom Hardy pulls off a amazing performance, and 1800's London looks stunning and really matches the tone of the show. I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves drama, and supernatural stuff.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page